Bruegel Suite (2015)

A five-movement work for solo Piano on paintings by Pieter Bruegel

Duration: 21′
  1. Hunters in the Snow
  2. Peasant Dance
  3. Winter Landscape
  4. Children’s Games
  5. The Tower of Babel

Publisher: Rassel Editions, NY

Commissioned by Pianist Simone Dinnerstein, the Bruegel Suite is a five-movement work on five paintings by Pieter Bruegel. The composer writes: “Bruegel’s genius resides in part in his amazing treatment of light in his paintings. Each painting creates a unique world of light and dark. It is the light and how it plays with the subject that I try to capture in sound.” The Bruegel Suite was premiered by Simone Dinnerstein at Koerner Hall in Toronto Canada in 2015.





Hunters in the Snow

Winter Landscape

Score available for purchase. (

Share This